UAAP Season 76 Applies New Rules

By Gian Franco

A new rule that requires players who transferred from a UAAP school to another to spend two years of residency will be effective this season, according to University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) President Nilo Ocampo.

The rules were disclosed with the approval of the UAAP Board of Trustees on its annual meeting, after more than 2 weeks of amending the league’s rule on the Senate floor.

UAAP will launch its 76th season in June 29 at the Mall of Asia Arena, to give a kick-off opener for the participating universities and fans. Adamson University (ADU) will be the host for this season with Fr. Maximo D. Rendon, C.M. as the President. This season carries the theme, “Greatness never ends”.

The season was moved early this June to give way for the preparation of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) Asia 2013, particularly the FIBA Asia Men’s Basketball Championship, as requested by the Samahang Basketball ng Pilipinas (SBP). The Philippines will host the FIBA games in August 1 to 11.

Speculations are being made as the season draws near. University basketball fans are expecting a heated rivalry between Ateneo de Manila University against De La Salle University and University of Sto. Tomas, adding that ADMU has graduating players with third-year Kiefer Ravena and fresh players left to shoulder the team while DLSU almost retains their key roster. UST Tigers lost their 14-season streak against DLSU Green Archers last season.

Far Eastern University (FEU), National University (NU), University of the East (UE), University of Sto. Tomas (UST), University of the Philippines (UP) and host Adamson University (AdU) are expected to heat up the court as they bid for the top seed against reigning ADMU and DLSU basketball squads.

DLSU will go head-to-head against UST in the main game at 4pm after the opening ceremony at the MOA Arena. While early on 2pm, FEU and UE will paint the court with their colors as they clash for the “Battle of the East”.

Below is the official first round basketball schedule for the UAAP ’76:

Saturday, June 29 (MOA Arena)        

FEU vs. UE


Sunday, June 30 (MOA Arena)    

Adamson vs. UP

Ateneo vs. NU

Wednesday, July 3 (MOA Arena)   


FEU vs. Ateneo

Saturday, July 6 (Smart-Araneta Coliseum)

NU vs. UE

UST vs. Adamson

Sunday, July 7 (MOA Arena)

UP vs. FEU (11:30AM)

Ateneo vs. DLSU (3:30PM)

Wednesday, July 10 (Smart-Araneta Coliseum)

UE vs. Adamson

NU vs. UST

Saturday, July 13 (MOA Arena)

UST vs. UE


Sunday, July 14 (MOA Arena)

NU vs. UP

Adamson vs. Ateneo

Wednesday, July 17 (MOA Arena) 

Ateneo vs. UE

FEU vs. NU

Saturday, July 20 (MOA Arena)          


NU vs. Adamson

Sunday, July 21 (MOA Arena)   

UP vs. Ateneo


Wednesday, July 24 (Smart-Araneta Coliseum)

UP vs. UST

Adamson vs. DLSU

Saturday, July 27 (Smart-Araneta Coliseum)

UE vs. UP


Sunday, July 28 (Smart-Araneta Coliseum)

FEU vs. Adamson

Ateneo vs. UST

Joaquin Chito Loyzaga replaced last season’s league commissioner, Ato Badolato, serving as the new administrator for this season on a formal appointment.

The Muralla is media accredited by the UAAP.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s